top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureMegan Cunningham

Toxic Periods?

I'm a pretty public person so we are getting down to a pretty private topic! This blog post may be a little lengthy! I'll try to keep it short!

Quite frankly this is something MORE people SHOULD be talking about. Why it's so taboo - is beyond me. But then again, I'll talk about ANYTHING!

First up - tampons! “Because tampons are considered medical devices, there’s no labeling requirement for ingredients. So for allergens or chemicals linked to cancer or other toxicity, even if you want to avoid them you can’t because you can’t see them.” WHY IS THIS OK? Someone please explain to me why a product we put in our vagina doesn't even give us the right to know WHAT it is made of. Cotton And/Or Rayon is the only ingredient listed on the Tampax website. So let me get this straight, you can't even tell us what it is made of? Let's not even talk about how that cotton and or rayon is processed! The thin fabric around the core - Polypropylene - Polyethylene (LDPE) isn't regarded as a 'bad' plastic. However potentially toxic industrial chemicals are involved in its manufacture, including butane, benzene and vinyl acetate. Benzene - The Department of Health and Human Services (DHHS) has determined that benzene causes cancer in humans. Long-term exposure to high levels of benzene in the air can cause leukaemia, cancer of the blood-forming organs.

Angry yet? You should be. Most of the ingredients are not listed ANYWHERE - so who actually knows what is found in tampons. This is a product we use on a monthly basis! For days at a time. MAKE A CHANGE to something safer ladies! If you haven’t made the switch yet - I'll share what I've tried and you can check them out!

Let's keep going... toxins in pads! Again, unregulated as to what goes into them is. Just like the beauty industry we need to research and share information! IF we don't stick together ladies.. we don't learn and educate each other! WE all deserve safer & with female cancers on the rise, paying attention to what we use is important!

One of the first ingredients listed is Petrolatum - petrolatum can be contaminated with polycyclic aromatic hydrocarbons (PAHs). Studies suggest that exposure to PAHs — including skin contact over extended periods of time — is associated with cancer. On this basis, the European Union classifies petrolatum a carcinogen and restricts its use in cosmetics. PAHs in petrolatum can also cause skin irritation and allergies! Fragrance is also found in them - and if you know me, you know how I feel about fragrance and why it’s so dang toxic!! The ingredients found in pads could be linked to : • Abnormal tissue growth in the abdomen and reproductive organs • Abnormal cell growth throughout the body • Immune system suppression • Hormonal and endocrine system disruption

WTF right. I'm telling you - if you switch to a cup and cloth pads you will notice these things change. Lighter periods, less cramping, less day (I went from almost 7 days to 3) and overall - it just feels damn good not to have toxic crap hanging out in your body! PLUS you'll save MONEY! So you can spend it on other things ;)


SO let’s talk CLEANER - SAFER - options

Here are 2 of my favourite brands!

TREE Hugger cloth pads - I am a HUGE fan of the Minky overnight pads and liners. I'm too much of a chicken to go without a liner while wearing my cup LOL even though it never leaks!

OR Local to me

Lady Crimson Cloth Emporium - Sophie is amazing at what she does and makes some awesome pads. I also got my re-usable paper towels from her :) No waste - re-usable and most of all SAFE! As Adisen gets older I'm looking for options for her - because she'll be 10 next month and it's coming sooner than later! I've heard great things about the period undies but can't report back on those yet! IF you've used them and love them, share your brand in the comments pls!



CUPS as in a Menstrual CUPS

I've only ever used 2 - Diva Cup & Lunette. The diva cup works for me. I've been using this since I had Tate - he's turning 8!

I won't lie - it can be a learning curve at the beginning - so grab some cloth pads to go with it! Once you get the hang of it.. GAME CHAGER - seriously if you have questing about it - ASK ME. I'm here to help! I have no problem getting a little personal and explaining it. Just don't ask for a demo LOL

The DivaCup is manufactured in Canada ️ The silicone starts as a liquid and then the molecules are bound together (or vulcanized) with very high heat to form a solid stable piece of silicone (similar to the feel of soft rubber). The DivaCup is cured after production in an oven at a very high temperature to make sure all the molecules are bound and “chain linked” together. Since the end product is a solid material, yet flexible and durable, there is no possibility for anything to leak into the body (no leaching). Even when boiled for cleaning (which I do after ever period) , the material used to manufacture The DivaCup has been tested to ensure none of the molecules will break away from the product.

I prefer the diva cup - but there are TONS of cups out there. GOOGLE IT! It may take a few of the to find one that is a good fit for you! IF you found another that you love and works for you - post it in the comments, pretty pls!


NOW - I always get asked how I wash my pads. Honestly. I throw them in the washer every morning. I do a load of laundry a day. Yes I wash them with my clothes. Guys it's just blood. It you cut your finger and get blood all over a shirt, do you throw it out? No. So get over it.

If I wasn't doing a load of laundry a day - I would probably throw them in a bucket with some water, so they don't stain. That is IT. Super easy. NO big deal!


I hope you learned something and as always, if you have questions, please ask!

If you are new around here - and love having conversations about safer please join my Facebook Group - Clean Living Pursuit , where the conversations are always happening!





41 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Clean Living Pursuit 6in 2 copy.png
  • instagram
  • facebook
  • pinterest

Thanks for submitting!

bottom of page